What do you want to do with your life?

(copied from my Facebook, if you commented there, you are not expected to here)

I’ve been doing some thinking, because to be honest I’ve yet to sort out what I’m supposed to be doing with my life, professionally speaking that is. My personal life is pretty well sorted. I’ve always heard that “Whatever it is you really really want to do, that’s what God has called you to do.” In my case, the things I want to do fall under three categories. 1. Cost prohibitive (take money to get into) 2. Take away my weekends, which I believe belong to my church. 3. I sort of think I want to do, but I know there are certain aspects that I’m REALLY not interested in. Many fall under one or more of those categories….but the purpose of this note is not to tell you my sad state of affairs. This is really here to pose a question to anyone willing to answer. Possibly two, depending on the answer to the first. The questions are:

1. Are you currently doing what you want to do with your life, and/or believe you are supposed to be doing with your life, or at least on a path that will lead to that goal? (I mean really lead to that goal, like going to nursing school to be a nurse, not working at target to make money so that maybe one day you might hopefully go to nursing school to be a nurse)

2. If the answer to the above question is no, what do you want to do, and/or believe you are supposed to be doing? If you don’t know the answer to this question, say so.

One Response to “What do you want to do with your life?”

  1. vanessathompson Says:

    Not sure what category my situation falls under…

    I started nursing school, now I have only my clinicals left in order to finish. It was impossible to do at the time, trying to pay to put a 1 yr old in daycare mon-fri 7-4 without any income on my part (in fact I was actually paying to do the clinicals). Since, God has blessed me with another child & one on the way. I absolutely feel like God put obstacles in my way in order for me to fullfil his desire for me to stay at home with my young children (I love doing it & personally couldn’t imagine being away from them more often then I am with them). Although, I believe that this is where God has called me to be at this point in my life & my childrens, I still also believe that he has put the desire to be a nurse on my heart for a different season (one that allows a little more time for myself)… & I plan to fullfil that desire as well.

Leave a Reply

