The Weekend in Sports…

at least what I care about anyways.

College Football – App. State blew out Jacksonville 65-7. ECU knocked off another ranked team, they are now ranked 14 in the AP poll and 20 in the USA today poll. Dook lost. UNC did not play.

UFC – Rich Franklin dominated Matt Hamill on the way to a third round TKO. Looks like he’ll be just fine at light-heavyweight after the bump up. Dan Henderson won, though not impressively. Chuck Liddell got laid out by Rashad Evans. Took him a while to get up, but finally he walked back out of the ring. I think this shows that Evans is the real deal. Also, I think Chuck’s title aspirations are pretty well done for after dropping 3 of his last 4 fights. He is still a good fighter, and can be involved in several intriguing match-ups in the division. I personally would like to see he and Franklin go at it.

NFL – Tom Brady is done for the season. I feel bad for him, but I think this throws that division wide open. I never want to see a player hurt, but I am glad that finally the Patriots might not be such a dominant force. The Carolina Panthers won their game on a 14 yard touchdown pass after time expired in San Diego. It was thrilling to watch, but anti-climatic because the crowd basically went quiet, and there wasn’t much going on in terms of celebration.

F1 – Lewis Hamilton wins with rain beginning, very thrilling at the end. Puts Hamilton one step closer to the Championship he just missed out on last year.

Sprint Cup – Oh wait, I said the ones I care about.

2 Responses to “The Weekend in Sports…”

  1. hmmmm.. maybe carolina will go all the way this year?

    im crossing my fingers.

  2. I would like to see that. Though in reality its not much of an option for the football team, even if they were undefeated I don’t think the ACC is strong enough to give them the ranking they need, and I still think the Butch Davis era needs some more time before they’ll beat Wake Forest, or VT and FSU on a regular basis. Basketball has a great chance though.

Leave a Reply

